Why do opposition goalies always have the game of their lives against us?

Rargh.
Bloody Tottenham Hotspur.

Now this isn’t the most professional blog I’ll ever write as when it comes to football, I am a lifelong mad Arsenal fan and won’t give the scum any credit for anything even though they may deserve it. Yes, I am that petty. However much I might want to become a sports journalist one day, I don’t think i’ll ever be able to write any good words about THEM.

I’m the type of football fan who gets properly upset whenever my team loses or a team I hate wins. DO NOT tell me it’s just a game.

So we lost to them 2-1 tonight, first time in 11 years, if we had won or drew it would have been the longest unbeaten run against a team EVER. I knew that stat was going to be unlucky for us.

After 10 minutes this happened:

Fluke goal from a debutant. Couldn’t be more lucky.

Almunia in goal could have done better and not flapped at it first though.

Spurs extended their lead just after half time through Gareth Bale, before we brought Robin van Persie on for his first appearance since being injured in a friendly match for Holland vs. Italy on November 14. And I’d say, without that pointless midweek international game, the whole season would have been a lot different.

RVP’s introduction showed how much we missed him. In the 22 minutes he was on the pitch, he forced 3 stunning saves from Heurelho Gomes, probably the best performance ever from a goalkeeper who has been distinctly average for the rest of the season.

Why can’t Almunia ever play out of his skin like that? (Apart from the first half of the Barcelona game.)

So saggy-faced Harry beat us this time, but I can’t say they were better than us. We weren’t great, we had most of the possession and plenty of opportunities, but ultimately, some of our players just weren’t pumped up enough for it and Gomes had the game of his life. Sol Campbell was outstanding in central defence, I wish some of our younger players were as dedicated to the cause as the 35 year old veteran.

So we are 6 points off the top of the table with 4 games left.

We’re gonna need a miracle to win it.

Looks like Chelsea are gonna win it, will HATE it if they do. They don’t deserve it. We actually need Spurs to do us a favour at the weekend. Urgh. It feels so disgusting wishing them to win. Must go wash my mouth/fingers out.

I hope it’s a game with plenty of red cards and injuries for both sides.

Particularly John Terry. Hate him. He got away with a terrible tackle on James Milner at the weekend, he cheated on his wife and got away with it, surely he deserves some bad karma sometime soon. Please?

But really, we need the Totscum to beat the Chelscum if we’re gonna have any chance of the title now.

And somehow Aston Villa need to get into 4th above Totscum and Man City. I haven’t worked out how that will happen though. Maybe Man City’s rich owners will run off and leave the club bust, and Totscum will be disqualified for being a scummy side with a tax cheat manager.

But really, Arsenal haven’t done too badly this season. We’ve had dodgy patches for sure, but with 4 games to go we are still within 6 points of winning the league. Not bad considering all the injuries we’ve had (RVP, Gibbs, Fabregas, Ramsey, Song, Arshavin, Gallas, Djourou). I don’t think for a single game this season we’ve had a full strength team. I heard Harry Redknapp say Spurs would’ve been a lot closer to Arsenal this season if they hadn’t had injuries. If we hadn’t had injuries, I would bet we would’ve won the league.

Right, I think that’s enough ranting for tonight. I must go to bed. Work tomorrow at 7:30 then a trip to Germany for the weekend 🙂 Might post a little update on that!

Think the next serious blog will be on politics. Was waiting for all the manifestos to come out and the first round of leader debates are tomorrow evening. Won’t get a chance to see it tomorrow but will catch up with it all when I get back from the land of SAUSAGE.

Until next time! ADIOS!

~ by paulmuchmore on April 14, 2010.

Leave a comment